top of page

We're Getting Kooky For Kirstie

Kirstie Paterson's creative journey began at the age of 17 when she was diagnosed with chronic fatigue and turned to art as a form of distraction. The results of her early work were, in Kirtstie's words, lacking skill but with perseverance and practice she established a style uniquely her own. We caught up with the Scottish Highland's native to learn more about her and her art.

The Jotter: For someone with no formal training, it's remarkable that you seemed to have established a specific style that runs through all your work. Do you draw inspiration from any other artists to channel a certain style?

KirstiePatersonArtDesigns

KP: Do I? Wow thanks. When I was a younger, before I started drawing/painting I was interested in learning about Frida Kahlo and I've got a few books on Dali but I wouldn't say that directly inspired me. In school years, I always thought that you had to be able to draw super realistically to be an artist; something I was never good at . If you could see my attempts at fruit bowls you would know what I mean. It wasn't until a few years later when friends had seen the things I was drawing/painting and encouraged me to put my work out there that I really realised that there are no boxes in art.

It was only recently that I got Instagram and I love to see all the different work on there. Seeing other people's unique styles encouraged me, even more, to continue with my own style.

TJ: How has your style evolved through the years and where do you hope to take your art (eg.future projects, aims, more shows etc)?

I would say my main goal now is to get enough work as an artist to be self-sustainable , as working a normal 9 - 5 job would be very difficult for me due to my health. But saying that, I'm not creating my work for that, I do it because basically I love to draw and it gives me a focus that I might not otherwise have had. I've been selling pieces here and there for probably 4 years now and I am still totally amazed when someone wants to buy something. I'm a super visual person and I love the idea of creating something that is fun or interesting for people to look at and more often that not will be super colourful! My health doesn't really permit me to do shows at the moment but it is definitely something I would love to work towards soon.

KirstiePatersonArtDesigns

TJ: It's great to hear that you discovered a passion for art from your struggle with chronic fatigue. Do you have any advice to those who are suffering a similar illness? Or those looking for creative outlets to deal with difficult chapters of their life?

KP: I would say try to find something that you enjoy and can manage, whether it be drawing, painting, adult colouring. There are so many crafty options these days. Give it a go for yourself! A lot of people with chronic illnesses are bed or housebound for long periods of time and it can be really tough for lots of reasons. My art initially gave me something to do in these times that I really loved, in those minutes, hours I spent drawing I wasn't thinking about the pain I was in or the fact I could physically do very little. It was an escape and I honestly believe its what got me through some pretty hard times. After a few years, it had developed into an outlet. I was a sick housebound person was able to put something out into the world ,which meant so much. It gave me something to really focus on and I would massively encourage anyone to find a form of creativity that they enjoy and persevere with it, not for fortune or fame but for your own enjoyment. When I started my work I could barely draw anything that didn't look like a 6-year-old had drawn it (no offence to 6-year-olds) but I literally just put so so many hours in that I learned and improved to where I'm at now and not because of some innate talent but because I loved to do it so putting the hours in was easy. You will improve over time and that in itself can give you a real boost.

TJ: What is your creative process? How do you begin to create your art?

KP: Ohh tricky question. I would say with me it's one of two things. I will either sit down to draw and just start to sketch lines, shapes, an eye or a character and from that I'll see a shape that looks like something else (e.g. a chicken) and I will turn it into that and from that, other lines are created and I just build it up like that . Or the second thing that sometimes happens is I will get a really visual idea pop into my head, for example, to draw a face made up of just numbers and then the challenge ensues but I would say mostly I just sit down and see what comes out and work with whatever that is.

TJ: Can you expand on how the Highlands influence your work?

There are some things that always seem to crop up in my work, mountains, trees, plants and wildlife are some of them and I do believe it is because I am constantly surrounded by it where I live in the highlands. As young people here we really appreciate where we live and I like to show that in my works. As well as that, the cracking highland people who encouraged me to put my work out there. The local community here has been amazing in giving me opportunities and support which gives me the confidence to continue to do what I'm doing.

To see more of Kirstie's work visit her instagram now.

Recent posts
bottom of page