top of page

The Californian Cool of Raul Ramirez

There is something effortlessly cool about film photography. Like bed head hairstyles and "this is just something I threw on" outifits, the appeal is found in the apparent lack of trying. Whilst the reality of analogue photography may be far from effortless (I've personally dealt with a light-leaky Holga) the candid nature and celluloid grit of the shots scream easy retro-hip. Team this with the laid-back nature of Californian skateboarders and you are coming close to understanding the appeal of Raul Ramirez's photography.

We spoke to Raul about his work and inspirations.

The Jotter: Why do you like film photography as opposed to digital?

Raul Ramirez: With digital I found myself reshooting the same image more than once until I got the perfect picture. To me it means a lot more to take a single photo with a 35mm camera and have to go through the process of developing and waiting for the outcome. With digital you could shoot the same image ten times, choose one shot then go edit on photoshop, its just not the same. Doesn't give me the same feeling and you cant imitate the true look of film. Theres nothing wrong with digital, film is just my personal preference. Its fun and if you have access to a darkroom even better. Theres many different type's of formats, Im shooting 35mm and 110 right now.

TJ: What role do you think film photography plays in a world obsessed with technology?

RR: It seems easy to assume film is a thing of the past, which technically it is but it is still very alive in 2016. I still get a surprised look on peoples faces once in a while “ Are you shooting film? Why?”. We all have a good quality cell phone camera in our pocket at all times, its very convenient so its not hard to understand that perspective.

"...those who shoot film don't want easy."

Its easy to capture a moment on a phone but those who shoot film don't want easy. Its fun going through the whole process but when you have Walgreens, Rite aid, cost co, and these large places who stop offering the developing service it may seem like film photography's life span is coming to an end. Its not. There are small shops who do it, theres darkrooms out there, theres always going to be a way. Film is important and its here to stay.

TJ: How do you choose your subjects and what would be your perfect shot?

RR: Most of the time, I'm out skateboarding with friends, I feel I don't choose the subjects, rather what is behind them. I'll see a cool wall, an alley, or some sort of background that I find interesting and I'll snap a portrait of whoever is out with me that day.

"As far as shooting skateboarding with film I like to take more of a scenic approach."

As far as shooting skateboarding with film I like to take more of a scenic approach. I feel the skateboarder shouldn't take majority of the frame, to me what's around the spot is equally important and makes a better photograph. I'd like to think someone who doesn't skate might still enjoy the image, and skateboarders can maybe appreciate a different approach.

TJ: What (or who) inspires you?

RR: My friends, my son, family. I find new ways of getting inspired everyday. I enjoy looking through peoples' photography on instagram. I follow a lot of skateboarders/photographers. It's interesting seeing where skateboarding takes them and the people they meet. I get inspired by people like Ed Templeton, Ray Barbee, Raymond Molinar, Al Davis, Jason Lee. My friends Franklin Medina,Erik Razo, Robert Roldan, Andy Mick and everybody at the Bloodygums Collective. Theres a bunch more.

Recent posts
bottom of page