top of page

Srushty Kamble: Depression

Srushty Kamble, a poet from Mumbai, tackles the topic of mental health in two new poems. Having first hand experience with depression Kamble addresses the crippling effects of the illness.

Unresolved

The luxury of solitude

Wasn’t mine to be

Cause I am defeated

Silently by his

Choreographed scream

My existence shatter

Like a wave on the rocks

Getting stronger yet

With every other fall

I numb myself to

The joy of the company

Trying to free the

Chained soul

That prison within me

The warmth of the touch feels

So foreign

The steel blade

So familiar

That promised me

Of desired calm

That comes with

Nyctophilia

And when the dawn arrives

I walk amongst the crowd

Alone. ....

With the corpse of my smile

That burdens my back

I look at people with all different masks

While I stand there unbalanced uncontrolled unresolved


Silence

Silence ,

hiding ,submerging,dissolving

in the loud clatter

that goes along...

begging to be heard

waiting to be known..

screaming,praying,crying

looking for someone

who can hear it shout...

Seduced by the fear

in it's Dark lonely Alleys

wounded,injured,

by the claws of the past

digging into it's soul

Smiling,laughing

as the world walks away

ignoring it, suppressing it

Yet it stays with the

deep and the dark

and the ugly within you

with an oath

to stay strong till the end

breaking out with a

few notorious tears

hidden,submerged,dissolved

screaming ,shouting and yet

silent......

Illustrations by Sanja Gilchmori

Recent posts
bottom of page