top of page

Inside Katarina Rose's Hidden Worlds

From secret gardens to Jack-in-the-boxes, the act of discovering something previously hidden is a magical experience.The thrill of the reveal is amplified further when combined with a minature reality; you only need to glance at the popularity of themeparks offering shrunken dioramas of historical times or the work of William Kass or Kurt Moses to understand that we have a collective fascination with minature worlds. Katarina Rose offers both.

The Jotter: Hi Katarina, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Katarina Rose: I am a classically trained sculptor- Wimbledon Art School and The Frink School of Figurative Sculpture - and have spent over 10 years sculpting the human form under a different name 'Lisa Lindqvist.' I also have a history of working in costume propmaking and scenic painting for theatre, film and t.v.In 2013 I began a body of new work under a new name, incorporating my figurative sculpting skills into a new direction.

TJ: What is the main inspiration for your work?

KR: I get inspired by everything - natural history, nature, deep sea life,archeology, ancestory, popular culture,human behaviour,politics, National Identity, gender stereotypes, love, power, folklore, myth, truth, religion, spirituality.....often I hear a story or see an image that triggers a response and sows a seed for an idea. But also my ideas often diverge considerably from their original source. I like to combine a seemingly pleasing diorama, with a darker, more serious observation. I love to use humour to convey my ideas about the structures of modern society.I like to attempt to uncover truths through my work and it helps me to make sense of the world.

TJ: As a primarily 3-dimensional artist how do you source materials for your work and how does the creative process differ from 2-dimensional work?

KR: I find materials in junk shops and skips, and I also sculpt, paint, photograph and collage my own interiors. All the taxidermy I use has been found and stuffed by me or purchased from second hand shops.The main difference with this work is that it allows for that 'chance' element as I never know what i might find. With my 2D work I have to create an illusion of depth, wheras with this 3D work the space dictates the piece, and I have to work within these restrictions.

TJ: What sort of reactions have you gotten from your work?

KR: Since my first solo shows last year, my work has recieved a fantastic response with several publications, and a 4 page feature in 'The Telegraph' magazine.I will be branching out into national

exhibitions and public art this year.

TJ: Thank you Katarina Rose! We will most certainly keep an eye open for your exhibitions!

Recent posts
bottom of page