top of page

Create Rebellion by Robbie Tripp: Interview and Review

I, among many other creative individuals, have often felt at odds with a world that places financial success above all other pursuits. Creative careers rarely make promises; there is no paid leave, health benefits or spending accounts. If you do find yourself in a position at a company that fulfils your creative needs then you truly are part of the lucky few. For the rest of us we are met wth a fork in the road: one lined with suits, ties and skyscrapers and the other defined by crippling insecurity.

Robbie Tripp's first book, 'Create Rebellion' offers an antidote to those finding themselves in a creative stupor. In a stream of conciousness style, Tripp asks that you treat fear and surrounding spiritual destitution as a catalyst for your art. In poetic lucidity he tells you to "become the chaos."

Reading 'Create Rebellion' for the first time I found myself nodding to a number of Tripp's statements. His words resonated with me and, even in a very crowded coffee shop (and to the displeasure of those around me), I felt compelled to vocally agree. In between 'mm's, 'ah's and nods I was taken in by 'Create Rebellion' s unique position as a chameleon text; it sits comfortably between prose, poetry and maifesto. Tripp's words would work as well in a book as it would pinned to a Lit student's dorm-room wall. You can dip in and out of 'Create Rebellion' and still appreciate the poetic language and its ability to inspire just as well as if you read in it all in one sitting. Even a slice will resonate.

I spoke to Robbie Tripp about 'Create Rebellion' and his writing process.

The Jotter: Your language is poetic and dripping in imagery yet it was presented in a prose form. Where do you personally place your work? And why did you decide to write in such a way?

Robbie: To this day, I still have a hard time explaining to which genre Create Rebellion belongs. The book really doesn't fit any typical genres. This makes it difficult to explain to others, but I honestly wouldn't have it any other way because it perfectly fits the message of the book—not being marginalized, disregarding the status quo, and creating your own path. Creative minds will connect with it and that's all I care about. I don't feel the need to have to define this work, because that's the opposite of what the book represents. As for my writing, it's also hard to explain because it's different, but the closest way to define it is as a stream of consciousness. I sat down at my computer every morning and just let it flow. I truly felt as though I was pulling something out of me so I just kept going and going until there was nothing left. There was nothing calculated about the way I wrote Create Rebellion, and I think that's the beauty of it.

"There was nothing calculated about the way I wrote Create Rebellion, and I think that's the beauty of it."

While I am always working on other projects that require a more classic, disciplined style of writing, the voice of Create Rebellion was meant to inspire people with its illustrative nature. If I had it my way, this is how I would write all the time, because it's what comes most natural to me. So this being my first published book, I really wanted to allow myself the freedom of opening up my creative flood gates and writing without restraint. I had a general direction in mind of what I wanted Create Rebellion to be, but the words that came from it were purely inspired and something that has been brewing inside of me for a very, very long time, my whole life maybe.

The Jotter: A strong theme in your writing is creativity in spite of suppression. You note that creative minds are faced by a number of enemies that wish to quell creativity. Was the decision to write about this from a personal experience or from observation?

Robbie: Both. Being someone who has never been afraid to rattle the cage and chase pure expression at any cost, I have most definitely ruffled some feathers in my life. I am frequently faced with people who seek to project their negativity and doubt at me for chasing my dreams. Social media makes it so easy for others to project their opinions, and while they're entitled to their opinion, they are not entitled to try and bring others down to their level. I believe unrealistic ambitions are the only ones worth having, but not everyone agrees with that, and those are the types of people who criticize and spread negativity.

"I believe unrealistic ambitions are the only ones worth having"

I truly believe that there are common minds and creative minds, people who were born to create and people who were born to just follow the path that everyone else has carved out for them. Create Rebellion is speaking to those who were born to stand out. Far too many people have the perception that they have to do things because that's the way they've always been done. Or even worse, they don't think about what they're doing at all, they just follow the herd. I came across a quote online the other day that said, "I will not believe I was born to just pay bills and die." I think many people would nod their head in agreeance with that sentiment but how many actually live their life that way?! Far too many. As someone who was born to vandalize the walls of mediocrity, I constantly feel judgement and criticism from people who aren't able to see the power of grandiose visions. I know countless other creative minds out there feel the same way. True artists, true creatives will not be held back from expressing themselves and chasing their dreams at any cost.

The Jotter: In your book you speak about "spiritual destitution" in an "unenlightened empire." Why did you decide to become a writer in a society that places little value on the pursuit of the creative arts and how did you succeed in this process?

Robbie: I think writing is one of the purest forms of artistry. I mean, how amazing is it that we are all given the same words to use, and it's just the order that some writers can put them in that can connect with us on the deepest levels of emotion? In the words of JK Rowling, words are our most inexhaustible source of magic. I became a writer because I was a born to be a writer. I truly believe. An ability with words has always been at my disposal, so it would be sinful of me to go against that. We all should be chasing our dreams and doing what it is we believe we are called to do in this life. I don't worry about how hard it is to make a living as a writer, I worry about what my life would be like if I didn't make every effort to create things that will live far longer than I will.

"I don't worry about how hard it is to make a living as a writer, I worry about what my life would be like if I didn't make every effort to create things that will live far longer than I will."


I don't worry about what is going to make me money, I'm too focused on being tuned in to inspiration and making sure I'm being true to the creativity I was born with. Money is cheap, ideas are valuable. As far as I'm concerned, art is the true currency. If you're lucky enough to get paid one day for your art, then you are so incredibly lucky. But if you're not, it doesn't matter, because when all is said and done, you lived a much nobler existence than anyone who spent their life chasing the almighty dollar. I'm far from where I want to be, and that will always be my mindset. It always feel good when you create opportunities for yourself and things fall into place, but the calling to create never fades. Whether this book or the books I'm currently writing become best-sellers or not, it's all good. I write because I have to, because I need to. If the books sell well then that is an added bonus. But at the end of the day, I write because it is my dream. It is my dream to write something that will connect with people, something that makes people look inside themselves and feel something.

Dreams are too valuable to let go.

Create Rebellion is available on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com now. Make sure to check out www.robbietripp.com for more information and to keep up to date with Robbie Tripp.

Recent posts
bottom of page